Being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) or a related crime can happen to almost anyone. An error in judgment can result in a blood alcohol level above the legal limit. In Utah, you can be arrested for DUI even if you aren't over the legal limit of .08 BAC! Police can administer field sobriety tests and, based on their subjective judgment, arrest you for being unable to safely operate the vehicle.
Even a first-time DUI conviction may result in heavy fines and jail time, and a driver's license can be suspended for 120 days or more based simply on a single DUI charge—no conviction necessary. If you are arrested or cited with Driving Under the Influence, you only have a limited amount of time to try and save your driver's license. It is imperative that you contact an attorney immediately after your arrest, because you MUST schedule a hearing within 10 days of your citation in order to try to save your driver's license. Without a driver's license, many people are unable to get to work or care for their families. With such wide-reaching consequences, DUI and alcohol-related charges must be fought quickly and fiercely.
J. Peterson Law, PLLC represents clients who have been charged with DUI and other alcohol-related offenses in Utah, including:
As a former Salt Lake Public Defender, Jessica Peterson has handled thousands of Utah DUI and alcohol crimes cases. Her record of acquittals is testimony to her experience exposing the weaknesses in the prosecution's case and effective winning strategies. J. Peterson Law, PLLC serves Salt Lake City and the surrounding areas, including Provo, Heber City, Park City, and Tooele. Contact our office at 435-339-9395 or via our online contact form.